Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Origin And Gain Calibration Method

Posted by And 
And
Origin And Gain Calibration Method
June 25, 2020 01:17PM
--------------------------------------------------
Dear Jaewon, sorry for the naive question, butI I'm a beginner in this field, and I would like to figure out how does the origin and gain method work.
My set up is based on the ViewPoint EyeTracker(Arrington research). What I get is in fact the pupil position(in X-Y coordinates) on the screen in respect to a point(the center). So in the moment I set origin(when the subject is looking the center and the reward is released) I get the [0 0] point of regard(I mean the postion of the pupil at the center of the screen mapped in x-y coordinated). Then, I present a peripheral target, let's say bottom right. Since I experience an underestimation of the actual saccade I increased the gain. Then I present the same target until I can't see the signal (and ear the reward delivery)on it. At this point my calibration should be done. But sometimes, after adjusting the gain,I present the center again and I loose the center(I mean according to the fact that the gain is increased if a present the central target the signal is not reaching it anymore). Should I re-set the origin after each gain adjustment? How effectively the method works? I read about POR coordinates estimation based on 5 to 9 point of calibration and I wonder how the origin and gain can require just one point. Furthermore, in the GUI to what parameters correspond "rotation"?. Many thanks in advance
Best
And
Re: Origin And Gain Calibration Method
June 25, 2020 02:02PM